Jump to the main content block

Two Presidents from NCKU recognized as top 100 Asian scientists

Dr. Huey Jen Jenny Su, the President of National Cheng Kung University (NCKU) in Taiwan and Dr. Michael Lai Ming-Chiao, the former President of the University are featured in the latest edition of the ‘Asian Scientist 100,’ an annual listing of 100 prize-winning Asian researchers, academicians, innovators and leaders from across the Asia Pacific region.

Su, a public health expert, and Lai, a pioneer in coronavirus research, both are famed scientists in their own fields and highly esteemed leaders in higher education as well. This makes it an even greater news that now they are the only two honorees from Taiwan named in top 100 Asian Scientist in 2018.

Cited in the category of leadership, Su’s outstanding achievement in leadership gained her a spot on top Asian Scientist. She was recognized with the 2017 Harvard T. H. Chan School of Public Health’s Leadership Award for her timely and effective response to two emergency events in Taiwan: a dengue fever outbreak in Tainan City in 2015 and a magnitude 6.4 earthquake in 2016.

Also listed in the same category of leadership are Subra Suresh, President of Singapore’s Nanyang Technological University (NTU), Lam Khin Yong, NTU’s Vice-President for research, Chang Meeman from China’s Institute of Vertebrate Paleontology and Paleoanthropology, and Ajoy Kumar Ray from Indian Institute of Engineering Science and Technology.

Each of the honorees on Asian Scientist 100 has won a national or international prize in 2017 for their scientific research or leadership.

Spanning a diverse range of industries in science and technology, this year’s selection comprises honorees from China, India, Japan, Singapore, South Korea, Malaysia, the Philippines, Taiwan, Thailand and Vietnam.
Click Num:


Login Success